Most "best for multiple cats" lists stop at "it's multi-cat friendly." Nearly every manufacturer says that, and almost all of them quote drawer capacity for one cat. This guide does the per-cat math, shows where per-cat tracking breaks down, and collects the failure patterns owners keep reporting, so you can see which machines hold up with three cats and which ones quietly become a chore again.

Our picks at a glance

  • Best for 3–4 cats: Litter-Robot 4. Whisker rates it for up to 4 cats (3–25 lb), it's the only maker here that publishes a per-cat emptying schedule, and it was Wirecutter's top pick after hands-on testing.
  • Best for 5 cats or very large cats: Litter-Robot 5. Up to 5 cats and a 3–30 lb weight range, but it's newer and less proven than the 4.
  • Best when your cats weigh about the same: PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2. Camera plus weight ID, because weight-only ID can't separate cats within about a pound.
  • Best uncovered option for tense households: Petlibro Luma. Open top, 17.4 in. entrance, and a drawer rated for about 7 days with 2 cats.
  • Best budget for two cats: CATLINK Scooper Open-X (Multi-Cat). $199, open top, 12 L drawer. Buy the Multi-Cat version.
  • Best for a very large cat in the mix: PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky. Its 33 lb limit is among the highest published.

The numbers that matter with several cats

Manufacturer figures, checked Oct 19, 2026. "Est." columns are our arithmetic (rated single-cat days ÷ number of cats), not manufacturer figures. Blank = not published.
ModelCats ratedCat weightWaste capacity (maker)2 cats3 catsCat IDList price
Litter-Robot 4Up to 43–25 lbEvery 2 weeks with 1 catWeekly (Whisker)Twice a week (Whisker)Weight$699
Litter-Robot 5Up to 53–30 lbUp to 10 days with 1 catEst. ~5 daysEst. ~3 daysWeight$799
Litter-Robot 5 ProUp to 53–30 lbUp to 10 days with 1 catEst. ~5 daysEst. ~3 daysWeight + camera (AI ID needs Whisker+); $29 RFID tag$899
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2Not stated3.3–22 lb8 L; up to 17 days with 1 catEst. ~8 daysEst. ~5–6 daysWeight + camera$499.99
Petlibro LumaID up to 102.2–22 lb11 L; up to 7 days with 2 cats~7 days (Petlibro)Est. ~4–5 daysCamera$599.99
CATLINK Open-X (Multi-Cat)Up to 5 profiles3.3 lb min; max not stated12 L; up to 15 days with 1 cat"Typically every 4–7 days" with multiple cats (CATLINK)Weight$199
PetSafe OpenSkyNot statedUp to 33 lb8.5 L; up to 2 weeks with 1 catEst. ~7 daysEst. ~4–5 daysWeight$549.99
Neakasa M1 PlusNot stated2.2–~33 lb11.23 L; up to 14 days with 1 cat~8 days (one owner, 2 cats)Est. ~4–5 daysWeight$399.99
PetSafe Crystal ProNot statedNot statedTray 20–30 days with 1 cat10–15 days (PetSafe)7–10 days (PetSafe)None$229.99
Litter-Robot EVO1–23–19 lbUp to 7 days with 1 catEst. ~3–4 daysNot ratedWeight$599

Where self-cleaning boxes fail in multi-cat homes

These are the failure patterns that keep showing up in manufacturer support documents, independent hands-on testing and owner reports. For Reddit, we list thread titles only, because we couldn't access the threads' full text (see methodology).

1. Per-cat tracking breaks when cats weigh about the same

Most boxes decide which cat visited by weight. Whisker's own support page is unusually candid: its SmartScale algorithm "is not able to accurately distinguish between cats that weigh within one pound of each other." Whisker sells a $29 RFID PetTag so the Litter-Robot 5 Pro can tell "visually similar" cats apart. Owners report the same limit on other brands. A Neakasa owner with three cats, two "very close in weight," wrote on Neakasa's site that they put a camera above the box to correct the name assignments, adding "Litter robot no better." A 12-month Neakasa owner review says the same about two similar-weight cats. On Reddit, threads titled "How does the LR distinguish between two cats with the same weight?", "Incorrect identification in multi cat household" and "PuraMax not weighing cats properly" point to the same limitation.

What this means: if your cats weigh within about a pound of each other and you care about per-cat health data, pick a camera model (PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2, Petlibro Luma, Litter-Robot 5 Pro + PetTag). If you only need a clean box, weight ID doesn't matter. And on CATLINK's $169 single-cat Open-X, multi-cat recognition is a $30 unlock, so the $199 Multi-Cat version is the better buy for two cats.

2. "Up to two weeks" means one cat

OpenSky (8.5 L, "up to two weeks of clumps for one cat"), Neakasa (11.23 L, 14 days), CATLINK (12 L, 15 days) and PETKIT (7–8 L, 15–17 days) all quote single-cat intervals. Whisker publishes the per-cat reality for the Litter-Robot 4: weekly with two cats, twice a week with three, every other day with four. That same Whisker article also says "twice per week is typical" for two average-sized cats, so its own guidance varies. Owner reports land in the same range. One Neakasa owner with two cats gets about eight days from a box rated 14 for one cat, and Reddit threads are titled "Litter drawer needs emptying every other day - 2 cats" and "LR4: 2 cats, waste tray full alert every 2-3 days."

What this means: with three or more cats, plan on emptying any single machine about twice a week. If that's too often, two machines beat one bigger one.

3. One cat outside the weight window breaks automation for everyone

Automatic mode only works if every cat that uses the box sits inside the machine's weight range. Minimums run from 2.2 lb (Neakasa, Luma) to 3 lb (all current Litter-Robots), 3.3 lb (PETKIT, CATLINK) and 4.4 lb (ChillX AutoEgg). Maximums run from 19 lb (Litter-Robot EVO) and 22 lb (PETKIT, Luma) to 25 lb (Litter-Robot 4), 30 lb (Litter-Robot 5) and about 33 lb (OpenSky, Neakasa). Under the minimum, makers tell you to switch off automatic cleaning (Whisker's "semi-automatic" mode, PETKIT's and CATLINK's Kitten Mode). In practice, a new kitten turns your robot back into a manual box until it grows.

4. Queues and interrupted cycles

When a second cat steps in mid-cycle, a good machine stops. The Litter-Robot 4 manual says the globe pauses and resumes 15 seconds after the extra weight leaves. That's the right safety behavior, but in busy homes it means more partial cycles and more litter on the rim. Threads titled "LR4 gets interrupted every cycle" and "tips to stop your cat from interrupting the cycle" show how common this is. Longer cycle delays (up to 30 minutes on Litter-Robot, 1–60 minutes on OpenSky) help, and so does a second box.

5. Enclosed globes and litter-box bullies

Cornell's Feline Health Center notes that a cat ambushed near the box may start avoiding it, and recommends boxes with a 360° view and more than one exit. A covered globe has one doorway. A PETKIT owner with two cats wrote on PETKIT's own page, "only one will use it." If one of your cats guards resources or another is timid, an open-top machine (Luma, OpenSky, CATLINK Open-X, Neakasa M1 Plus) plus a plain backup box elsewhere is the safer setup.

6. Urine at the edges and leaks

More visits mean more chances for a cat that pees against the wall or the edge of the mat. Neakasa sells a mat retainer sticker for the M1 Plus, and owners have posted threads titled "Urine leaking from these holes" and "Silicone Pad Lifting After 5 Months?". A 12-month Neakasa owner still lists "wee fling" as unresolved. PETKIT owners post about "poop stains on the wall" and "poop leakage." PETKIT's own FAQ recommends fast-clumping litter and its Waste Covering Mode for soft stools. Sealed bases and high walls matter more with several cats than with one.

7. Crystal trays and rakes don't scale

PetSafe's manual says a Crystal Pro tray lasts 20–30 days for one cat but only 7–10 days for three or more, and PetSafe's Crystal Smart FAQ says multi-cat "mileage may vary." With three cats, that's roughly a new proprietary tray every week. On the clumping-litter rake model, one owner review on petsafe.com describes three units failing with rake problems. That's a single report, but rake mechanisms do the most work per cat.

8. Safety scales with the number of cycles

More cats means more cycles per day, and that means more chances for a sensor to fail. Wirecutter dropped the Neakasa M1 after reports of cats being injured when the drum over-rotated. Neakasa has since updated the firmware and gear, so owners of older units should confirm both. Cats.com reported a cat allegedly killed by an Amztoy-style box whose door closes vertically. Avoid that design entirely. With several cats, stick to machines from companies with a track record, multiple sensor types and an anti-pinch entrance, and keep up with firmware updates.

Which boxes we would not buy for 3+ cats

Our judgment from the published specs and reports above, not hands-on testing.
ModelWhy it struggles with 3+ cats
Litter-Robot EVOWhisker itself rates it for 1–2 cats; 19 lb max; 7 days for one cat.
PetSafe ScoopFree crystal models (Classic, Plus, Pro, Smart)Tray life drops to about a week with 3+ cats (PetSafe manual); proprietary trays only; Classic is limited to 15 lb cats.
ChillX AutoEgg2 L waste bin, the smallest we found; recommended for cats 4.4–15.4 lb.
CATLINK Open-X Single-CatMulti-cat recognition costs $30 extra. Buy the Multi-Cat version instead.
Older Neakasa M1 unitsOnly with current firmware and the updated gear (see safety above).
Generic vertical-door boxesDesign linked to a fatal incident (Cats.com). Avoid.

The best self-cleaning litter boxes for multiple cats

Litter-Robot 4: best for 3–4 cats

Best for 3–4 cats
Simple illustration (not a product photo) of a rotating-globe self-cleaning litter boxIllustration, not the actual product

Whisker

Litter-Robot 4

Rotating-globe design that sifts clumps into a sealed drawer after each visit. Whisker rates one unit for up to 4 cats weighing 3–25 lb.

  • Cats supportedUp to 4 (per Whisker)
  • Cat weight3–25 lb
  • Entryway15.75 in × 15.75 in
  • Footprint22 in × 27 in
  • LitterClumping clay recommended
  • Trial / warranty90-day trial; 1-yr WhiskerCare

Manufacturer list price: from $699 (litter-robot.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.

View at Whisker

The Litter-Robot 4 is the only machine here whose maker gives both a cat count (up to 4) and a per-cat emptying schedule. Its 3–25 lb range covers almost every household, and its 15.75 in. entry suits big cats. Wirecutter picked it after hands-on testing, praising its large opening, reliable cleaning and repairability. Wirecutter also notes Whisker is the only manufacturer offering replacement parts for DIY repairs, which matters when a machine runs dozens of cycles a day. Whisker offers a 90-day in-home trial on units bought direct, plus a 1-year warranty (3 years for $129).

The catch for multi-cat homes is weight ID. Cats within about a pound of each other will get mixed up in the app. Whisker says this in its Litter-Robot 5 support article, and the LR4 uses the same SmartScale weight ID. With four cats you'll also be emptying the drawer every other day.

What we like

  • Rated for up to 4 cats, 3–25 lb
  • Published per-cat emptying schedule
  • Wirecutter top pick (hands-on)
  • Replacement parts sold for DIY repair
  • 90-day trial

Watch-outs

  • $699
  • Weight ID can't separate cats within about 1 lb
  • Covered globe: one exit
  • Drawer every other day with 4 cats

Litter-Robot 5: best for 5 cats or very large cats

Best for 5 cats
Simple illustration (not a product photo) of a rotating-globe self-cleaning litter boxIllustration, not the actual product

Whisker

Litter-Robot 5

Whisker's newest globe without cameras. Rated for up to 5 cats weighing 3–30 lb, with WasteID that separates #1 from #2.

  • Cats supportedUp to 5 (per Whisker)
  • Cat weight3–30 lb
  • Entryway15.75 in × 15.75 in
  • Footprint22 in × 27 in
  • Unit weight28.7 lb
  • Trial / warranty90-day trial; 1-yr WhiskerCare

Manufacturer list price: $799 (litter-robot.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.

View at Whisker

The Litter-Robot 5 raises the rating to 5 cats and the weight range to 3–30 lb, with an interior height of 17.5 in. (vs. 16.5 in. on the 4) and up to 10 days between empties for one cat. It also adds WasteID, which separates urine from stool visits. The trade-off is maturity. Wirecutter hadn't tested the non-camera LR5 when we checked, and it found the camera-equipped 5 Pro's app "extremely glitchy" in its test, though it plans to retest. We'd pick the LR5 over the LR4 only if you have five cats or a cat over 25 lb.

PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2: best when your cats weigh about the same

Best cat ID
Simple illustration (not a product photo) of a drum self-cleaning litter box with cameraIllustration, not the actual product

PETKIT

Purobot Max Pro 2

Drum-style box with an AI camera that PETKIT says can tell similar-weight cats apart. 8 L bin, 10 in entrance, 3.3–22 lb cats.

  • Cat IDCamera + weight
  • Cat weight3.3–22 lb
  • Entrance height10.03 in
  • Waste bin8 L, up to 17 days for 1 cat
  • Dimensions25.86 × 21.18 × 23.74 in
  • Wi-Fi2.4 / 5 GHz

Manufacturer list price: $499.99 (with Fence 2.0) (petkit.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.

View at PETKIT

PETKIT pairs weight sensors with a camera and says the combination separates cats "even with similar weights." It's also one of Wirecutter's hands-on picks for its cleaning and detailed app. The 8 L bin is rated for up to 17 days with one cat, which works out to roughly a week with two by our arithmetic. Limits: 22 lb maximum, Wirecutter found the globe interior smaller than the Litter-Robot 4's, and 30-day video history needs PETKIT's Care+ subscription.

What we like

  • Camera + weight cat ID
  • Wirecutter pick (hands-on)
  • 8 L bin
  • 10 in. entrance; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi

Watch-outs

  • 22 lb max
  • Smaller interior than Litter-Robot 4 (Wirecutter)
  • Video history needs a subscription
  • Hard floor required

Petlibro Luma: best uncovered option

Best uncovered
Simple illustration (not a product photo) of a open-top globe self-cleaning litter box with cameraIllustration, not the actual product

Petlibro

Luma Smart Litter Box

Uncovered globe with a downward camera that Petlibro says identifies up to 10 cats. 11 L drawer rated for about 7 days with 2 cats.

  • Cat IDCamera, up to 10 cats
  • Cat weight2.2–22 lb
  • Entrance17.4 in
  • Waste drawer11 L; up to 7 days for 2 cats
  • Noise (maker)35–47 dB by fan speed
  • Trial / warranty90-day trial; 24 months

Manufacturer list price: $599.99 (petlibro.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.

View at Petlibro

For homes where one cat ambushes another, the Luma's open globe fits Cornell's advice better than any covered machine. Wirecutter picked it for cats who prefer uncovered boxes, and Petlibro quotes about 7 days of waste for two cats, one of the few honest multi-cat figures we found. The downsides are Wirecutter-reported: storing footage needs a pricey subscription ($95–$160 a year), and Petlibro's support response times were slow for one tester. The 22 lb limit rules out the biggest cats.

At $199, the Open-X was Wirecutter's budget pick: open top, infrared, weight and anti-pinch sensors, and a gear designed so the globe can't close on a cat. CATLINK itself says to expect emptying every 4–7 days with multiple cats. Wirecutter flagged a glitchy app, a one-year warranty with no extension, and one stray clump in hundreds of cycles. Make sure you buy the Multi-Cat listing.

PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky: for a very large cat in the mix

Highest weight limit
Simple illustration (not a product photo) of a open-top self-cleaning litter boxIllustration, not the actual product

PetSafe

ScoopFree OpenSky

Open-top self-cleaner with an 8.5 L drawer and the highest cat weight rating in this guide (33 lb). App tracks weight and visits.

  • Cats supportedSingle or multi-cat (no number stated)
  • Cat weightUp to 33 lb
  • DesignOpen top, no hood
  • Waste drawer8.5 L, up to 2 weeks for 1 cat
  • Dimensions20 × 18.8 × 24 in
  • LitterMost clumping litters

Manufacturer list price: $549.99 (petsafe.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.

View at PetSafe

The OpenSky's 33 lb limit and open top make it the shortlist pick when one of your cats is a giant. PetSafe quotes its 8.5 L drawer for one cat (two weeks), so plan on about weekly with two. We haven't found independent hands-on testing of the OpenSky yet. Treat this pick as spec-based only.

How many boxes do you actually need?

Cornell, the ASPCA and the AAHA/AAFP guidelines all recommend one litter box per cat plus one (AAHA/AAFP also allow "one per social group plus one"). A manufacturer's "up to 4 cats" describes what the machine can process. It doesn't change your cats' needs. A setup that works for many households:

  • 2 cats: one automatic box plus one plain, uncovered box in a different room.
  • 3 cats: one automatic box plus two plain boxes, or two automatic boxes plus one plain box if you want to empty less often.
  • 4+ cats: two automatic boxes in separate locations plus plain backups. Two machines also mean one is always working while the other is being deep-cleaned.

Which should you choose?

Our recommendation

3–4 cats, any size up to 25 lb: Litter-Robot 4.
5 cats or a cat over 25 lb: Litter-Robot 5 (or the OpenSky if you want open-top).
Cats within about a pound of each other, and you want per-cat health data: PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2.
One cat bullies another: Petlibro Luma, plus a plain backup box elsewhere.
Two cats on a budget: CATLINK Open-X (Multi-Cat).

New to automatic boxes? Start with our complete guide to the best self-cleaning litter boxes or the buyer's guide.

FAQ

Can four cats really share one Litter-Robot 4?

Whisker rates it for up to four, and its own schedule says you'll empty the drawer every other day at that load. Vet guidance still calls for five boxes for four cats, so treat the robot as the main box, not the only one.

Why does my app keep mixing up my cats?

Weight-based ID can't reliably separate cats that weigh within about one pound of each other, as Whisker's support documentation admits. Update each cat's profile weight, reassign wrong visits so the app can learn, or switch to a camera or RFID-tag system.

Is open-top or covered better for multiple cats?

For tense households, open-top. Cornell recommends a 360° view and more than one exit when cats ambush each other. Covered globes contain litter and smell better, so they suit calm households.

Sources

Prices and specs were checked on Oct 19, 2026. Manufacturers change specs and prices; check the product page before you buy.

  1. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 product page (up to 4 cats, 3–25 lb, price, trial)
  2. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 ongoing maintenance (emptying schedule by number of cats)
  3. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 manual (dimensions, 3 lb minimum, cycle-pause behavior)
  4. Whisker: Litter-Robot 5 product page (up to 5 cats, 3–30 lb)
  5. Whisker: Litter-Robot 5 Pro product page
  6. Whisker: Litter-Robot EVO product page (1–2 cats, 3–19 lb)
  7. Whisker Support: Litter-Robot 5 inaccurate cat weight (cannot distinguish cats within one pound)
  8. Whisker: PetTag RFID collar tag ($29)
  9. PETKIT: Purobot Max Pro 2 product page (camera ID, 8 L bin, 3.3–22 lb)
  10. Petlibro: Luma Smart Litter Box product page (up to 10 cats ID, 7 days for 2 cats)
  11. CATLINK: Scooper Open-X Multi-Cat product page (12 L, 4–7 days with multiple cats)
  12. CATLINK: Scooper Open-X Single-Cat product page ($30 multi-cat unlock)
  13. PetSafe: ScoopFree OpenSky product page (33 lb, 8.5 L for one cat)
  14. PetSafe: ScoopFree Crystal Pro manual (tray life by number of cats) — Manufacturer manual hosted by a retailer
  15. PetSafe: ScoopFree Crystal Smart FAQ (multi-cat 'mileage may vary')
  16. Neakasa: M1 Plus product page (specs and on-page owner reviews) — Owner reviews on a manufacturer page are first-party and may be curated
  17. Mark's Tech Blogs: Neakasa M1, 1 year on (owner long-term review) — Single owner, two cats
  18. Wirecutter: The Best Automatic Cat Litter Boxes (hands-on testing; Neakasa M1 safety note)
  19. Cats.com: Avoid this type of self-cleaning litter box (Amztoy-style design)
  20. Reddit r/litterrobot, r/PETKIT, r/neakasa threads (titles listed in the article) — Thread titles only; see methodology
  21. Cornell Feline Health Center: Feline Behavior Problems: House Soiling
  22. AAHA/AAFP Feline Life Stage Guidelines: General Litter Box Considerations
  23. ASPCA: Litter Box Problems